Oil Exploration Jobs – Interview

Walter J. had heard about the jobs that were available in the oil and gas industry and knew that with his geologist’s degree he’d be able to find work in the exploration field with an oil company.
He was fresh out of school and had very little on-the-job experience, but he was confident that he could do the work the companies would require of him.
What made you decide on a career in the oil and gas industry?
With my degree in geology I knew that my skills would be very valuable to an oil company doing a lot of exploration and development. I’ve always known that I would enjoy using the skills I was trained in to chart the best places to find oil and gas deposits. I’d worked for an oil company as an apprentice over my last summer in college and knew that it was what I wanted to do with my life.
How did you find out about the jobs available?
I searched online for a few weeks to make sure that I understood what the oil and gas companies were looking for. I wanted to make sure that the skills they were looking for were skills that I had or could easily learn. The web site had a lot of information and different jobs that the oil companies were looking to fill. It was pretty easy to navigate around and find all the information I was looking for.
Do you think you’ll make this your career?
Definitely. It’s what I’ve always wanted to do and the reason I got into this field in the first place. Working in this industry I can pay off my student loans in a very short time and there’s enough work out here to last as long as I want to stay. I’d say all of the companies working out here have future plans for big development. There’s just no end in sight for the amount of development and jobs to come. I’m telling all my friends to seriously think about coming out here with me. I know they’ll be as glad as I am to be working here.
Some basic skills for success in the oil and gas industry are:
· Grade 12 education (other specialized / professional careers may require a diploma or degree)
· Proficient in the English language – reading, writing, speaking and listening / comprehension
· Problem solving and decision making skills
· Planning and organizational skills
· Computer literacy
· Use of documentation skills (plans, directions, maps, etc.)
· Math and science skills
· Mechanical aptitude
· Good listening skills
Some common industry values for success are:
· Good work ethic and capable of working hard
· Motivation to succeed
· Positive attitude
· Teamwork and collaboration
· Desire to learn and grow
· Entrepeneurial
· Highly adaptable and flexible

Comments here please...